California’s Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts, Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (Common Core State Standards), along with the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics and the Next Generation Science Standards, are part of a multi-state movement to ensure K–12 students gain the necessary literacy, mathematical and scientific skills required in 21st‐century higher education and in 21st century jobs. The authors of the Common Core State Standards Initiative specify that these new standards are intended to apply to all students, including students whose home language is not English.

English learners may need instructional support in developing proficiency in English language and literacy as they engage in learning academic content based on these new, rigorous standards. English Learners face an additional challenge in developing literacy in English since they must develop oral proficiency in English—including depth and breadth of vocabulary—at the same time that they are learning to read, write and perform academically in English.

In November 2012, the California State Board of Education adopted new English Language Development Standards that are aligned to California’s Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and address English language and literacy skills English Learners need in key content areas.


California’s English Language Development Standards

Preservice 2014 Handouts

Proficiency Level Descriptors 

The proficiency level descriptors provide a picture of what students in the Emerging, Expanding, and Bridging levels can/should do. Within each proficiency level descriptions are given that explain the continuum of skills that students have from when they enter a level to when they exit. During EGUSD preservice days, this document was used to refer to the “WHO” since keeping students in the forefront of educators mind is critical.

ELD Proficiency Level Descriptors

Grade-Level Matrices 

The matrices provided by Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) show on a single page the link between ELD and ELA standards. They are listed below by grade level.


1st Grade

2nd Grade

3rd Grade

4th Grade

5th Grade

6th Grade

7th Grade

8th Grade

9th Grade

10th Grade

11th Grade

12th Grade